I have now been a KUGS Music of the Masses DJ for eight weeks (huzzah!) and am beginning to feel more comfortable behind the microphone and console.

In regards to my self-determined “Areas of Improvement” list, I think I am making sound progress.  I have finally learned how to use an LP/record player (though unfortunately my show does not usually allow me to play any records – as most of my show comes from The Wall and in CD format – unless requested) and I am beginning to feel more confident speaking to a large audience.  I still find this to be my greatest challenge, however, because sometimes I find myself just listing off the songs and artists I played (“At the top of the hour you heard blah, blah and blah…”), which is a little boring.  I’d like to challenge myself to come prepared with interesting information about the artists or albums I play on my show and this will be my main goal for my show this upcoming Tuesday (March 6, 2007).

I will pat myself on the back for diversifying my playlist and going outside of my own personal taste.  I’ve been playing hip-hop, reggae, and folk outside of just the “Specialty” requirement and asking my friends with different musical taste for recommendations.  I want to live up to the eclectic mix of music all M4TM shows are suppose to provide (a “taste of the rainbow” as the promo says) and hopefully I can continue to venture into genres I’ve never ventured into before.  Interestingly enough, I have found some artists outside of my usual realm of indie-rock/proto-punk/glam/mod that I really like, so it is a win-win situation for everyone.

Oh, and can I just say I am really appalled by the lack of musical knowledge from the general public?  Every show I have to do a giveaway, which is decided by a music trivia question. Rarely does anyone get my trivia questions right (I usually have to give a hint), which I feel are  actually pretty easy and common knowledge.  For example, I asked one week for people to name the two MCs of Public Enemy (Flavor Flav and Chuck D)  and of the 10 callers, only one person got both names.  Then I asked what “The Day The Music Died” is in reference to, and I got several callers who thought it marked the day Elvis died.  The week of the Grammys I asked who has recieved the most Grammy nominations with 77 (Quincy Jones), and two people called and said Michael Jackson, three The Beatles, and one for Ray Charles.  Even when I gave the hint the name started with a Q did no one get it right.  What are our children learning in school?!

Next quarter I decided to not do a specialty show, though I partially regret this decision.  I really like hosting a M4TM show because it helps me stay atop of new artists and albums, which is what I would be doing with my free time anyways.  Originally I thought I would apply for a “Wes Anderson soundtrack-ish” show, if that means anything to you.  Wes Anderson movie soundtracks (think Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, etc.) usually are an eclectic mix themselves of proto-punk (The Velvet Underground, The Stooges), contemporary instrumental (Mark Mothersbaugh), and whimsical songs of the 60s and 70s (Joan Baez, The Creation, The Faces, etc.).  I thought it would be interesting to create a show around the same format and highlight some of my favorite artists (namely Bowie, The Velvet Underground, The Who, Nico, etc.) which fit perfectly, in my opinion.  But alas, I did not know how responsive listeners would be and I really like M4TM, so I am sure next quarter will be just as educational and fun as this one now.

Anyways, I just wanted to take an opportunity to reflect on my experiences from the past few weeks.

Goals for the last three weeks of the quarter:

1.  Research artists and albums ahead of time; try to find one or two interesting facts for 10-15 artists I will play on my show Tuesday

2.  Ask for more requests (sometimes I forget to announce I take requests)

3.   Play the new Explosions in the Sky, even though all the songs are 5 – 7 minutes long

4.  Continue to work on song transitions and diversifying the playlist

