On Sunday I substituted for a fellow KUGS dj who normally does the Alternative Jukebox from 6-8 p.m. I was delighted to do a specialty show and get to select my own playlist (instead of selecting from a limited number of selected albums from “The Wall”). The following is my playlist. I selected a lot of my favorite songs of the moment/distant past and I’m not entirely sure if they fit in with the regular dj’s format. My only instructions were to “play whatever made [me] happy”, so I did just that.

Xiu Xiu: I Luv The Valley OH! Fabulous Muscles
Ted Leo and the Pharmacists: Biomusicology The Tyranny of Distance
Aqueduct: Hardcore Days and Softcore Nights I Sold Gold
Ugly Casanova: Parasites Sharpen Your Teeth
Ono with Blow Up: Everyman Everywoman Yes I am a Witch
Built to Spill: Else Keep It Like a Secret
The Velvet Underground: I’m Set Free The Velvet Underground
Interpol: Not Even Jail (Daniel Kessler Remix) Remix DPRO
Air: Surfin on a Rocket Talkie Walkie
Fiona Apple: Not About Love Extraordinary Machine
Most Serene Republic: Propositon 61 Underwater Cinematographer
Roxy Music: Virginia Plain The Best Of
The French Kicks: Was It a Crime? Trial of the Century
Neutral Milk Hotel: Two Headed Boy In an Aeroplane Over the Sea
Broken Social Scene: 7/4 (Shoreline) Broken Social Scene
Bjork: Undo Vespertine
Sonic Youth: Empty Page Murray Street
Architecture in Helsinki: Do the Whirlwind In Case We Die
Faultline: Where Is My Boy? Your Love Means Everything
The Brunettes: Boyracer Boyracer EP
Vells: The Very Scary Trees Vells
The Boy Least Likely To: I’m Glad I Hitched… The Best Party Ever
El Perro Del Mar: Party El Perro Del Mar
The Blow: True Affection Paper Television
The Walkmen: We’ve Been Had Everyone Who Pretended To…
The Beta Band: Dry the Rain The Three EPs
Frida Hyvonen: You Never Got Me Right Until Death Comes
Viva Voce: The Lucky Ones The Heat Can Melt Your Brain
Dean and Britta: Since I lay My Burden Down Words You Used to Say

